Timeline Modern

Share on social media:

This timeline will be updated as soon as possible to include more twentieth and twenty first century events:

1655 – Manasseh ben Israel, a rabbi from Holland, arrives to persuade Oliver Cromwell to re-admit Jews into England. Three months later Cromwell holds a conference and in 1656 makes a positive signal to the Jews by allowing a Spanish merchant to keep his ships and goods whilst England is still at war with Spain.

1753 Jew Bill – allows Jews to become naturalized by application to Parliament.

1844 – Rabbi Aaron Jacob and daughter Rebecca die in a fire in St Ebbe’s – reported in Jackson’s Oxford Journal 2nd March

1847 – Synagogue in Paradise Square

 1851 census records 10 Jewish households in Oxford, predominantly jewellers.

1858 – Lionel de Rothschild becomes the first Jewish MP

1868-1901 Adolf Neubauer – catalogues the Hebrew collections in the Bodleian

1871 – Universities Tests Act

1883 – J.J. Sylvester, Mathematician – first Jewish Fellow (New College)

1891 – New synagogue building constructed on present site.

1905 – Oxford University Jewish Society (the Adler Society) founded

1906 – first University Zionist Society founded

1922 – Chaim Weizmann speaks at Oxford Town Hall

1931 – Einstein given a fellowship at Christ Church for a month every summer.

1938 – Cecil Roth made Reader in post-biblical Jewish studies

1939 – During the war – hostel for refugee boys at 1 Linton Rd.

1945 – Ernst Chain shares Nobel Prize for Medicine with Prof Florey and Fleming.

1951 – Arthur Goodhart became the first Jew to become Head of a college, Master of Univ., followed by Arnold (Lord) Goodman.

1953 – Hans Krebs (Trinity college) receives the the Nobel Prize in Physiology

1966 – Isaiah Berlin becomes first President of Wolfson College.

1970-71 Rabbi Prof Jonathan Sacks, previous Chief Rabbi, grad student at New College

1970 – May, Daniel Barenboim and Jacqueline Du Pre perform at the Town Hall

1971 – Last services in the old synagogue  held on 4th December.    

1972 – Foundation Stone laid for new Synagogue & Centre.

1974 – New Oxford Jewish Congregation building ( synagogue, rooms for Classes, Jewish Students Meal service and Kosher Kitchen, and community offices, consecrated on 28th April by Rev Malcolm Weisman, Jewish Chaplain to the University

1990 – college heads include Sir Zelman Cowan – Provost of Oriel; Lord Goodman Master of Univ; Ruth Deech – St Anne’s; Baruch Blumberg – Master of Balliol; Sir Claus Moser – Wadham; Isaiah Berlin – President of Wolfson

About OJH

Our aim is to raise the profile of the history of Jews in Oxford from earliest records through to the modern day.

Recent Posts


Please click on each image to see title/description.